Institute for Mathematical Sciences

The Institute for Mathematical Sciences, founded in 1989, is closely allied to the Stony Brook Mathematics Department.  The Institutes's Director is Misha Lyubich; its Co-Director is John Milnor, a 1962 Fields Medalist, and the winner of the 1989 Wolf and 2011 Abel Prizes.  Dennis Sullivan, an Institute member, is a winner of the 2009 Wolf Prize.  The Institutes's primary research focus has been on Dynamical Systems with an emphasis on the low-dimensional real and complex cases.  With Oleg Viro recently joining the Institute, Low-Dimensional Topology has become another important direction of research at the IMS.
Permanent Faculty Milnor Lecturers
Current Visitors Staff
Jack Milnor Congratulations to John Milnor
Winner of the 2011 Abel Prize
News from Seoul ICM 2014

*  John Milnor, Abel Lecture
​*  James Simons, My Life in Mathematics
*  Artur Avila, Fields Medalist

Dynamical Systems Seminar

Minicourses in Dynamical Systems / Dynamics Learning Seminar

The Dynamical Systems page

The IMS Preprint Series

Past IMS Conferences

IMS History

IMS Video Collection